About Myanmar

Myanmar is the largest country in the Southeast Asian mainland and it borders China to the north and northeast, Thailand and Laos to the east, and India and Bangladesh to the northwest. The country has a total land area of 676,578 km² and a line along the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea. The capital of Myanmar is Naypyidaw. Yangon is the economic and commercial centre and largest city, with an estimated population of six million.

Border Sharing Country & Length (KM)
China : 2185
Thailand : 1800
India : 1463
Laos : 235
Bangladesh : 193

Economic liberalization post 2011

In March 2012, a draft foreign investment law emerged, the first in more than 2 decades. Foreigners may start the business with a local partner to 70% (Foreign): 30%(Local) share ratio in the country, and will be able to legally lease but not own property. The draft law also stipulates that Myanmar citizens must constitute at least 25% of the firm's skilled workforce, and with subsequent training, up to 50-75%.

In 2012, the Asian Development Bank formally began re-engaging with the country, to finance infrastructure and development projects in the country. The United States, Japan and the European Union Countries have also begun to reduce or eliminate economic sanctions to allow foreign direct investment which will provide the Myanmar government with additional tax revenue.